Remember to ALWAYS read food labels carefully and watch for hidden allergens. Hidden allergens are ingredients derived from or containing major food allergens with common names that may be unfamiliar to consumers. Foods or ingredients to AVOID if allergic to wheat: (This is not an exhaustive list.)
Baking mixes (most)
Hot dogs (some)
Modified food starch
Salad dressings (some)
Alternative food sources that provide important nutrients if avoiding wheat:
Complex carbohydrates, B-vitamins, fiber: other whole grains, corn, barley, millet, rice, oats, potatoes
Note on celiac disease: In addition to wheat, barley and rye contain the gluten protein thatmust be avoided by those with celiac disease.
Virginia Cooperative Extension materials are available for public use, reprint, or citation without further permission, provided the use includes credit to the author and to Virginia Cooperative Extension, Virginia Tech, and Virginia State University.
Virginia Cooperative Extension is a partnership of Virginia Tech, Virginia State University, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and local governments. Its programs and employment are open to all, regardless of age, color, disability, gender, gender identity, gender expression, national origin, political affiliation, race, religion, sexual orientation, genetic information, military status, or any other basis protected by law.
February 3, 2021